A learnership is a work-based learning programme that leads to an NQF-registered qualification. Learnerships are related directly to an occupation or field of work, and help to prepare learners for the workplace. The programmes are based on a legally-binding agreement entered into by an employer, a learner and a training provider, which specifies responsibilities, protects the interests of each party and ensures the quality of the training.

SETAs oversee learnerships and ensure that they offer qualifications related to a specific occupation or sector of the economy. Learnerships combine theoretical learning and practical training, and an allowance is paid for the duration of the programme. Learnerships are available for young people from the ages of 16 to 35 who have completed school, college or learning at other training institutions. Unemployed South Africans can participate only if there is an employer prepared to provide the required work experience.

Employment post-programme is not guaranteed, but the candidate is in a much better position to market himself as he now has both work experience and theoretical training. Starting a business may also be an option.

Fasset offers the following learnerships:

  • Associate Accounting Technician Level 5
  • Associate General Accountant Level 6
  • Certificate for Registered Accounting Clerk Level 3
  • Certificate for Registered Bookkeeper Level 4
  • Certificate: Certified Accounting Technician Level 5
  • Certificate: Office Administration Level 5
  • Certificate: Public Sector Accounting Level 4
  • Chartered Accountant: Audit Specialism Level 7
  • Chartered Accountant: Financial Management Specialism Level 7
  • Diploma: Public Sector Accounting Level 5
  • FET Certificate: Debt Recovery Level 4
  • GAP - Accounting Technician Level 5
  • General Internal Auditor level 7
  • National Certificate in Business Administration Level 4
  • National Certificate in Business Administration Level 3
  • National Certificate: Business Accounting Level 5
  • National Certificate: Small Business Financial Management Level 4
  • National Diploma: Management Accounting Level 6
  • National Diploma: Technical Financial Accounting Level 5
  • Postgraduate Diploma: Professional Accountant in Practice Level 7
  • Postgraduate Professional Qualification: Professional Accountant in Business Level 7
  • Professional Qualification: Chartered Certified Accountant Level 7
  • Professional Qualification: Chartered Management Accountant Level 7

About Us

We are your strategic partner in skills development and training in the finance and accounting sector. Our pioneering programmes drive the professionalism and transformation of sector and help to make it a truly world-class and exciting environment in which to work and grow.